The 2015 She Will Run Conference

On Saturday, March 7th, 2015, Equal Voice uOttawa proudly presented our main event of the year: The 2015 She Will Run Conference!

Like our ‘She Will Run’ series, the [sold out!] conference included speakers, networking opportunities, and activities that helped provide the foundation to the skills, tools and support systems needed for young women to participate in Canadian politics.

This year, we had the pleasure to announce that we were joined by the following group of distinguished women:

Our Distinguished Speakers

The Hon. Minister of Labour and Minister of Status of Women, Dr. Kellie Leitch

Lorraine Rekmans, Green Party candidate for Leeds-Grenville-Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes, and the shadow cabinet critic for Indigenous Affairs

Lynne Steele, President of the Ontario Women’s Liberal Commission (OWLC)

Our Esteemed VIP Guests

Marianne Wilkinson, City of Ottawa Councillor for Kanata North

Karen McKrimmon, retired Lieutenant Colonel of the Canadian Forces and federal Liberal candidate in her for Kanata-Carleton

Amanda Simard, Councillor at Russell Township and Policy Advisor at Parliament of Canada

Penny Thompson, ran for City Counselorship for the Rideau-Rockcliffe Ward in 2014

Elanor Brodie, EDA President of the Ottawa-Vanier Conservative Association

Catherine Fortin-Lefaivre, ran for council in Rideau-Vanier Ward

We would like to thank all of our speakers, guests, colleagues, and friends for coming out to such an inspirational and motivational event!

You can find the 2015 She Will Run Closing Speech here, as was requested.

From left to right: Angélique Barray, Marianne Wilkinson, Kris Rondolo, Amanda Simard, Nicole Rutkowski, Danika Leminski, Elanor Brodie, Jessica Saviotti, Sarah Fulham, and Bingjie Becky Shen
From left to right: Bingjie Becky Shen, Delaney Freedman-Jackson, Emily York, Hon. Dr. Kellie Leitch, Nicole Rutkowski, Jessica Saviotti, and Danika Leminski
Hon. Dr. Kellie Leitch with her She Will Run Thank You Mug and Nicole Rutkowski!
From left to right: Jessica Saviotti, Angélique Barray, Lynne Steele, Kris Rondolo, and Nicole Rutkowski
From left to right: Jessica Saviotti, Lorraine Rekmans, Danika Leminski, and Nicole Rutkowski
Future Prime Minister of Canada? With Catherine Fortin-Lefaivre and her daughter.

—-Danika Leminski, Official journalist/blogger of Equal Voice uOttawa Chapter


One thought on “The 2015 She Will Run Conference

Tell us what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s